Friday, February 19, 2010

On Being the Best (part 2 of 2)

On Being the Best (part 2 of 2)
 Feb 19, 2010

He had the makings of a pro back in 1978, at the age of 2, when he putted against Bob Hope on The Mike Douglas Show. This guy has been in the spotlight since before kindergarten. You and I can not even come close to imagining what that must be like.

Now that we’ve established that he’s
the best, let's establish one more thing.

Remember the whole O.J. trial?

O.J. found out that his wife, the mother of his kids, was sleeping around on him in the house that he paid for, with the waiter from their restaurant, riding around with that waiter in the car that he bought and she didn’t even try to be sneaky about it.

In the words of Chris Rock, “I ain’t gonna kill nobody, but if
he did… I understand.”

And O.J. wasn’t even
the best.

We, the people, gave O.J. a mulligan.

I was in Wal-Mart the other day and this kid about 7 years old was whining and bitchin’ and moanin’ about waaaah wah wah… His momma told him to shut his mouth. He told her to shut up. His momma picked him up by his ear lobe with one hand. (His feet just about left the floor.) She twisted his arm behind his back like on Cops. She lifted him by the back side of his britches with her free hand and drug his little ass out of the store.

Now, I’m not gonna condone the abuse of America’s youth, but if
she did… I understand.

And she’s not
the best either.

We, the bystanders, gave her a mulligan.

So Tiger gets all this money, all this fame, all this support from the world for being
the best! Then he gets caught doing something a little out of our idea of what his character should be.

Why do we really care where he puts his penis? David Bowie and George Michael are two perfect examples of how it's ok not to be concerned with the places a person puts their genitals.

People say that his wife is beautiful, that she’s a model. Well she’s obviously not
the best! She’s got to be lacking in a few areas. She comes short in some department. (No pun intended.) We all know that for every beautiful woman in the world, there’s at least one guy that’s tired of putting up with her shit. Maybe Tiger has been telling her for years “baby, I’m tired of your shit.” Then again, maybe she’s tired of his… who knows?

But one thing’s for sure. So many people in the world get a mulligan when they get busted, and they don’t even deserve it because they aren’t
the best.

So Tiger is 9 over par. I don’t remember Wilt Chamberlain feeling like he had to go into any form of seclusion and he supposedly slept with 20,000 women. Tiger had 9. Do the math.

Maybe the money from razor blades and sneakers weren’t the motivators he needed.

Maybe slacking down on
the strange is gonna prove to be his kryptonite.

We'll see.

And it may never happen, but if it does… I understand.

On Being the Best (part 1 of 2)

On Being the Best (part 1 of 2)
Feb 19, 2010

Tiger Woods is the undisputed best golfer in the world. He has been for over a decade. You and I can not imagine what it’s like to be the best at anything. None of us can. Rarely is anyone ever the best at anything.

I’m really good at what I do for a living, but I’m not
the best. I couldn’t even imagine what it must be like to just know, beyond the shadow of any doubt, that I was the best at anything. I’m really good at what I do, but I’m not the best. I’ll bet you there’s a guy that does what I do everyday and he is probably better at it than me. Hell, there’s probably a guy better than me in my own town or even on my street. No, I’m not the best.
But Tiger is
the best.

Sinatra was a great singer and performer, but he wasn’t
the best.
Babe Ruth was a great baseball player, but he wasn’t
the best.
Drew Brees is the greatest quarterback our area has seen in years, but he’s not
the best.
Tom Cruise has made a gazillion dollars acting in movies, but he’s not
the best.

Think about it… in what area of
anything (sports, music, acting, anything) is there one single undisputed person that is the best? I can’t think of a single one. There are lots and lots of “really goods” and those that are “up there”, but no other bests.

So how do
we know what it’s like? Easy... we don’t.

This guy has got more money than he could ever spend. Gillette, Nike, ATT&T and countless others have given this guy more than any other golfer in the history of the entire world. And he’s worth it. He out performs absolutely everyone that challenges him. And he is consistent. He’s the closest thing I’ve ever seen to a sure thing in my lifetime. Can you imagine what kind of confidence a guy like that has got? He is made of balls! And they are Titleist!

He doesn’t walk up to the tee and say to himself “Oooh, shit… I hope I don’t fuck this up with all these people watchin’.”

Heck no! He’s
the best!

He approaches, takes his aim (or whatever people like him take) and simply uses the little club to put the little ball in the little cup. And he does it in the fewest number of tries. He probably doesn’t even think about it. He’s got his own God-Given Auto Pilot! He doesn't
do, he just does. He is the best. He always has been.


I think that if he's only slept with 9 other women and he's the best, then he has massive self control. Think about the masses of women that probably threw themselves at him daily. It's amazing he only cracked 9.


(to be concluded...)